Home > Governance > Senate


The Senate sets Saint Paul University’s educational policies and is responsible for the sound management of academic issues on campus. For instance, subject to the approval of related expenses by the Board of Governors, the Senate has the power to create and abolish faculties, schools and institutes. In addition, the Senate creates or abolishes academic regulations and programs of study, sets admission, degree and diploma requirements, and confers certificates, degrees at all levels and, with the approval of the Board of Governors, honorary doctorates. Finally, the Senate can strike committees to help it exercise its powers.

Members 2023-2024

  • Most Reverend Marcel Damphousse, Archbishop of Ottawa, Chancellor
  • Patrick Leroux, Rector
  • Iva Apostolova, Vice-Rector, Academic and Research
  • Éric Martin, Vice-Rector, Administration
  • Carole Breton, Vice-Rector, Governance and Secretary General
  • Chad Glendinning, Dean, Faculty of Canon Law
  • Dean, Faculty of Human Sciences and Faculty of Philosophy
  • Michel Andraos , Dean, Faculty of Theology
  • Wojciech Kowal, Elected Professor, Faculty of Canon Law
  • Richard Feist, Elected Professor, Faculty of Philosophy
  • Amanda Wilson, Elected Professor, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Christian Bellehumeur, Elected Professor, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Michaël Séguin, Elected Professor, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Mark Slatter, Elected Professor, Faculty of Theology
  • Christian Dionne, Elected Professor, Faculty of Theology
  • Sarah Johnson, Elected Professor, Faculty of Theology
  • Michael Nobel, Secretary, Faculty of Canon Law
  • Monique Lanoix, Secretary, Faculty of Philosophy
  • Cynthia Bilodeau, Secretary, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Hazel Markwell, Secretary, Faculty of Theology
  • Jérémie LeBlanc, Chief Librarian
  • Alain St-Amant, Vice-provost for Academic Affairs, University of Ottawa
  • André Beauchemin, Vice-provost, graduate studies and postdoct., University of Ottawa
  • Kim Lavigne, Elected Student, Undergraduate
  • Vacant, Elected Student, Undergraduate
  • Diana Mbonga, Elected Student, Graduate
  • Sue-Anne Hess, Elected Student, Graduate

Senate Committees