Home > Governance

Legislative governance framework of Saint Paul University

The following documents govern Saint Paul University and define its civil and ecclesiastical nature:

  • Elements of a Vision for an Oblate Catholic Institution of Higher Learning (2022) These categories provide a sketch of Oblate higher education. Far from closing discussion, they invite ongoing conversation and debate among all who work in Oblate institutes of higher learning.
  • Saint Paul University Act (2014) This Law, concerning the University Senate, modified certain articles in the University of Ottawa Act, 1933.
  • Statutes of Saint Paul University (2009) These ecclesiastic statutes, approved by the Congregation for Catholic Education, were written based on their norms and took into account the Apostolic Constitutions EX Corde Ecclesiae; because of its ecclesiastic faculties, Saint Paul University is also subject to the Apostolic Constitution Veritatis Gaudium. In accordance with the terms of the latter, the University must modify its Statutes by December 2019.
  • Saint Paul University Policy No. 3 – 2002 (2002) A policy document based upon the University of Ottawa Act, 1933 which was developed to incorporate certain elements of the civil charter (available only in the language originally published).
  • Agreement between Saint Paul University and the Congregation of Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate (2001) According to our history, the origin of Saint Paul University dates back to September 26, 1848, when “The College of Bytown” was founded by Bishop Joseph-Eugène Guigues, O.M.I., who in 1856 officially entrusted the College to the Oblates of Mary Immaculate (les Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée). Historically committed to the University, the Corporation, les Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée and the University signed an agreement that dealt with items such as ownership of assets, merger, dissolution or winding up of the University, the Corporation’s reserved powers, the mode of appointment of the Rector and members of the Board of Governors, the establishment of a foundation, the commitment to and from the members of the Board of Governors (available only in the language originally published).
  • University of Ottawa Act (1965) This Act changed the name of our University to Saint Paul University and created the University of Ottawa, nonetheless preserving our civil and canonical charters.
  • Since 1965, Saint Paul University has been federated with the University of Ottawa. The two universities are complementary institutions and work closely together. Both institutions’ civil degrees are conferred jointly by their respective Senates. The Federation Agreement is reviewed periodically to ensure that it reflects the evolution of both universities and is still valid (available only in the language originally published).
  • University of Ottawa Act (1933) This Act, which is still valid, is considered the seminal document that created the modern-day civil charter of our University, which came to be known as Saint Paul University.

The University has a bicameral system of governance, through which governance is shared by the Board of Governor and the Senate. Saint Paul University works in association with the Congregation of Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate.