Alumni and development

Home > Alumni and development > Alumni Zone > Alumni Association of Saint Paul University (AASPU)
Alumni Association of Saint Paul University (AASPU)

About Us

The mission of the Alumni Association of Saint Paul University (AASPU) is to support the advancement of Saint Paul University by encouraging its members to provide leadership and direction within the community and promoting solidarity with its members throughout the world.

Goals and Objectives

  1. To unite Alumni of Saint Paul University and of the ecclesiastical faculties of the University of Ottawa (prior to 1965);
  2. To strengthen the bond between them and their Alma Mater;
  3. To support and advance the interests of the Association’s members;
  4. To promote the interests of Saint Paul University;
  5. To encourage the Alumni’s continued participation in the activities of the University and to contribute to the advancement of higher education within the University and in the community at large;
  6. To foster a spirit of faith, fellowship and cooperation among its members;
  7. To undertake all activities appropriate to attaining the Association’s objectives.

Statement approved by the General Assembly of AASPU, September 21, 2012.



  • Be a graduate of Saint Paul University;
  • Attend a minimum of 3 meetings per year;
  • Directors should remain in office for a term of 2 years.

Nomination Procedures

Applications must be submitted in person or sent by e-mail to the Alumni and Development Office at no later than midnight 5 days before the annual general meeting (AGM). The election of new board members will take place at the AGM.

Application form

Board of Directors 2023-2024

Luigi Carlo Petro, Acting Chairman
Vacant, Secretary
Vacant, Advisor

Historical Background

Past Presidents:

  • 2018-2023  Luigi Carlo Petro
  • 2010–2012 Gordon Randall (Randy) Brooks
  • 2008–2010 Gilles Durocher
  • 2004–2008 Angela Davis
  • 2001–2003 Karine Langley
  • 1999–2001 Mangalam Lena
  • 1997–1999 René Laprise
  • 1995–1997 Pascal Barrette
  • 1993–1995 Janik Tremblay (Founding Member)
  • 1991–1993 Jean-Guy LeMarier, O.M.I. (First President and Founding Member)