International Office
Telephone: 613-236-1393
1-800-637-6859
Ext. 2200
international@ustpaul.ca
Quick Links

Print Print this page

Meet our international students: Lia Patricia Hiraldo Antigua, Dominican Republic

Lia Patricia Hiraldo AntiguaWhen Lia Patricia received a bursary from Canada’s Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) to pursue her bachelor’s degree at Saint Paul University (SPU), it was a dream come true. “I’ve always wanted to come and study in Canada!”

She arrived at SPU in fall 2015 and registered in the Social Communication program. “I was studying communications in my home country, so it was great to be able to continue in my field here in Canada.”

The transition to her new environment was definitely helped by how easily she made friends. “I live in residence, so all I had to do was go down to the kitchen! Right away I met other students, and we quickly became friends.”

The best thing about SPU? Her courses! “The courses I’ve taken have been fantastic. For instance, I’m taking Sound and Radio Production, and I actually got a radio system to work. It was great!”

After she graduates, Lia Patricia would like to work in public relations. She intends to apply for another bursary so she can complete her studies at SPU. “I love this country. I’m having a wonderful time, and when I tell my friends about it they all want to move here!”

She plans to take full advantage of her Canadian experience by visiting some major locations, including Montreal, Niagara Falls and Quebec, and exploring the National Capital Region. “My first week here, I visited the Parliament Buildings. They’re so gorgeous! I’m also really impressed by the beauty of nature here.” She enjoyed admiring Canada’s fall colours for the first time, and says she’s looking forward to experiencing the cold winter she’s heard so much about!



Bookmark and Share

Other Links

Bureau international
Téléphone : 613-236-1393
1-800-637-6859
Poste 2200
international@ustpaul.ca
Liens rapides
Print Imprimer

Rencontrez nos étudiants internationaux: Lia Patricia Hiraldo Antigua, République dominicaine

Lia Patricia Hiraldo AntiguaLia Patricia a obtenu une bourse d’études octroyée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD)pour venir poursuivre son baccalauréat à l’Université Saint-Paul (USP), lui permettant ainsi de réaliser son rêve. « J’ai toujours voulu venir étudier au Canada! »

Arrivée à l’USP à l’automne 2015, elle s’inscrit au programme de communications sociales. « Dans mon pays, j’étudiais déjà les communications, alors c’est super de pouvoir continuer dans mon domaine ici. »

La partie la plus facile de son intégration a certainement été la facilité avec laquelle elle s’est fait des amis. « Étant donné que je vis à la résidence, je n’ai eu qu’à descendre à la cuisine et j’ai tout de suite rencontré d’autres étudiants avec qui je suis maintenant amie. »

Ce qu’elle aime le plus à l’USP? Ses cours! « Les cours que j’ai suivis sont super! Par exemple, je suis le cours “Son et radio”, et j’ai pu faire fonctionner un système radio. C’était génial! »

À la fin de ses études, Lia Patricia aimerait travailler dans le domaine des relations publiques. Elle souhaite faire une autre demande de bourse afin de pouvoir terminer son programme à l’USP. « J’adore ce pays! Je passe du bon temps et quand j’en parle avec mes ami(e)s, ils veulent tous déménager ici! »

Elle prévoit profiter pleinement de son expérience au Canada en visitant les grands centres urbains tels que Montréal, Niagara Falls et Québec, et en explorant la région de la capitale nationale. « La première semaine, je suis allée visiter le Parlement. C’était tellement beau! La beauté de la nature est aussi quelque chose qui m’a frappée depuis mon arrivée. » Elle compte donc également admirer pour la première fois le coloris automnal de la nature canadienne et sentir le froid de l’hiver, dont elle a tellement entendu parler!



Bookmark and Share

Autres liens