Conflict Research Centre
Telephone: 613-236-1393
1-800 637-6859
Ext. 2519
Quick Links

The Conflict Research Centre Celebrates Graduate Student Research Excellence

The Conflict Research Centre is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Student Research Awards. The awards highlight the original work of graduate students – one for a Master’s student and one for a PhD student – in the School of Conflict Studies. The award jury chose the winning papers for their excellent research and the quality of their presentations.

PhD Student Research Award


The PhD Student Research Award was presented to Linda Ehrichs for her paper, “Religion, Cosmovisions and Environmental Conflicts.” Linda comes to the doctoral program in Conflict Studies after 20 years of professional experience in international development and humanitarian assistance working for the Government of Canada, UNDP, and various non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Her research interests examine the role of religion, religiosity, and secularism on conflicts, development aid, and peacebuilding.




Master’s Student Research Award

The Master’s Student Research Award was presented to Josh Nadeau for his paper, “Civility Through a Lens of Positive and Negative Peace: Applying Galtung’s Theory To North American ‘Culture Wars’.” Josh is a freelance journalist and dialogue facilitator based in Ottawa, Canada and Saint Petersburg, Russia. His research interests focus on dialogue, conflict mapping and societal conflicts in North America and the former Soviet Union. His work has appeared in the Washington Post, the Economist, Foreign Policy among others, and can be found on his website.


The winning papers will be posted on the Conflict Research Centre website.

These awards were presented at the annual Graduate Student Symposium in Conflict Studies, which took place on April 22-23, 2021.

The award jury – composed of professors Jean-Francois Rioux, Heather Eaton and Enkelejda Sula-Raxhimi – also wish to recognize the exceptional work of the student organizers of the symposium: Nadine Olafsson, Katrina Leclerc and Shannon Gallagher. Congratulations to these doctoral students for their impressive work in gathering students from Saint Paul University and abroad for a dynamic and engaging series of intellectual exchanges over the course of the symposium. The jury would like to thank all the participants as well!

Bookmark and Share

Other Links