International Office
Telephone: 613-236-1393
Ext. 2200
Quick Links

Stepping Outside Your Comfort Zone to Grow

The experience of two scholarship recipients from the Dominican Republic in Social Communication at Saint Paul University (SPU)

Liz Marie Rutinel Pérez and Valerie Nicole Rodriguez Genao, both social communication students in the Dominican Republic, are the recipients of scholarships awarded under the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP). They are studying at SPU during the 2019 fall term.

These scholarships, offered by Global Affairs Canada, are valued at $7,200 each. Since 2009, the Government of Canada has funded ELAP to encourage a new generation of leaders in the Americas. Through this program, students from Latin America and the Caribbean can enjoy a short study period in Canada.

"From the very first contact I had with SPU, I had the feeling I belonged here. Now I am having new experiences and discovering a new culture. I have gotten out of my comfort zone, and that's what allows me to grow. That’s what SPU offers me," says Liz Marie.

"I fell in love with the Social Communication program. I’m sure it will help me put all my skills into practice and provide me with new tools for my personal and professional future," adds Valerie.
The program enriches both the student and the classroom experience.

"This scholarship provides an opportunity to include Latin American and Caribbean perspectives in communication studies and to enrich the cultural diversity that is at the heart of the School of Social Communication," explains the Director of the School of Social Communication, Professor Sheenagh Pietrobruno.

The University community wishes the two scholarship recipients an excellent stay in Canada and much success in their studies.

Scholarship Recipients

In this photo, from left to right: Jean-Marc Barrette, Vice-Rector Academic and Research; Liz Marie Rutinel Pérez; Valerie Nicole Rodriguez Genao; Chantal Beauvais, Rector; Michelle Veilleux, Director International Office; Sheenagh Pietrobruno, Associate Professor, Faculty of Human Sciences; and Michael McLellan, Rector, Administration and Secretary General.

Bookmark and Share

Other Links