SPU will bestow the 2016 Alumnus of the Year Award to Mr. Jean La Rose

Jean La Rose

On Tuesday, May 24, 2016, Saint Paul University will present the 2016 Alumnus of the Year Award to Mr. Jean La Rose, CEO of the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN).

This award recognizes the outstanding achievement of one of our alumni. Consideration is given to alumni who have contributed greatly to their community, in their work environment, church and/or society in general or who have been recognized locally, provincially, nationally or internationally; people whose values reflect and promote the mission of Saint Paul University in the following areas of their life and work: knowledge, spirituality, excellence, understanding, respect, integrity and community.

Jean La Rose is a First Nations citizen from the Abenakis First Nation of Odanak. He was raised in Ottawa, where he studied Journalism at Algonquin College and obtained his Bachelor of Arts in Social Communication at Saint Paul University in 1978. Mr. La Rose later began his Master's in Public Administration at L’École nationale d’administration publique.

In November 2002, he was named Chief Executive Officer of APTN. Since then, Mr. La Rose has been responsible for the network becoming an Official Broadcaster of the 2010 Winter Olympic Games that carried over 14 hours per day of events in English, French and eight (8) Aboriginal languages. Preparing APTN for future growth, he has developed the organization into a multi-platform broadcaster that employs more than 150 people nationwide. Mr. La Rose sits on the Boards of Directors of the National Screen Institute, Media Smarts, Mother Earth Recycling and Indspire. He was awarded an Indspire Award (formally the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards) for Media and Communications in 2011, and the CEO HR Champion of the Year Award from the Human Resource Management Association.


Register Now button

Please contact Jeff Wolfson at 613-236-1393, ext. 2539, or by email at jwolfson@ustpaul.ca if you have any questions.

Past Alumni of the Year 

  • 2014: Hazel Markwell, Ph.D Theology, '65
             Director, Centre for Clinical Ethics
  • 2013: Gil Remillard, B. Philosophy '65
             Founding Chairman, International Economic Forum of the Americas
  • 2012: Françoise Lagacé, B. Philosophy ’65
             Pastoral facilitator, Archdiocese of Gatineau
             Gilles Lagacé, B. Philosophy '65, B. Theology '70, M.A. Mission Studies '04
             Labour Relations Advisor (Retired)
             Isabelle Lagacé, Certificate in Social Communications '97
             Directorate of Communications and Corporate Affairs, Cégep de l'Outaouais
  • 2011: Monsignor André Drouin, P.H., B. Philosophy '58, M.A. Pastoral Science '79
             Pastor, Saint Anne’s Parish, Ottawa (Deceased)
  • 2010: Revrend Isaac-C. Martinez-Chuquizana, M.S.A., M.A. in Mission Studies '93
             Animator General, Missionaries of the Holy Apostles
  • 2009: Dr. Elisabeth Jeannine Lacelle, B. Theology '67, Theology Licence '67
             Professor Emeritus, Saint Paul University
  • 2008: His Eminence Francis Cardinal George, o.m.i., M.A. Theology '71
             Archbishop of Chicago (Deceased)
  • 2007: Alain Gourd, B.Philosophy '66, M.A. Philosophy '68
             Founder, President and CEO of BCE Media (Deceased)
  • 2006: Lieutenant-Colonel the Reverend Canon Michelle Staples, B.Theology '95, M.A. Theology '96
             Command Chaplain for the Royal Canadian Navy
  • 2005: The Most Reverend Roger Ébacher, Theology Licence '61
             Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Gatineau
  • 2004: Michel Brazeau, B.Theology '87
             Senior Director, Canadian School of Public Service
  • 2003: Sister Marie-Paule Couturier, f.m.a., M. Canon Law '91, Licence Canon Law '91
             Vice-Chancellor of the Archdiocese of Halifax-Yarmouth (retired)
  • 2002: Monsignor Patrick Powers, P.H., B. Theology '87
             General Secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops
  • 2001: Kirby Kranabetter, M.A. Pastoral Studies '93
             Director of Mission, Ethics and Client Relations, Bruyere Continuing Care
  • 2000: Pierre Bergeron, B.Theology '70
             Editor and Columnist, Le Droit
  • 1999: Sister Helen Prejean, C.S.J., M. Religious Education '73
             Author/Human Rights Activist
  • 1998: The Reverend Roger Guindon, o.m.i., Philosophy Licence '43, B.Theology '45, Doctorate Theology '54
             Founder, Saint Paul University (Deceased)
  • 1997: The Most Reverend Vernon James Weisgerber, B. Philosophy '58, Philosophy Licence '59
             Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Winnipeg
  • 1996: Sister Monique Picard, SGM, Certificate in Theology '94
             Sisters of Charity Montréal (Grey Nuns)
  • 1995: Frances Boire-Carrière, B.Theology '74, Philosophy Licence '76
             Director, Human Resources, Bank of Canada
  • 1994: The Reverend Doctor Jean Monbourquette, o.m.i., B. Theology '57, Theology Licence '59
             Professor, Saint Paul University (deceased)
  • 1993: Brother Réjean Gadouas, o.m.i., Theology Certificate '82
             Founder of La Manne de l’île and Co-founder of Le Gîte Ami

Bookmark and Share

Other Links