Call for Nominations for the 2018–2019 Alumnus of the Year Award

Celebrate your fellow Alumni!

The Saint Paul University Alumni Association applauds and supports the tremendous achievements of its members by recognizing the inspiring talent and influence of Saint Paul University alumni worldwide.

You can help to acknowledge distinguished alumni by submitting a nomination for the

2018–2019 Saint Paul University Alumnus of the Year Award 

Deadline: Monday, March 4, 2019 

Established in 1993, the Alumnus of the Year Award acknowledges the outstanding achievements and accomplishments of Saint Paul University Alumni. The Award recognizes alumni who have achieved distinction through their exceptional contribution to our community and society. They are individuals with values that correspond with the mission of Saint Paul University: Contributing creatively to the humanization of society.

All candidates must be graduates of Saint Paul University through a degree, diploma or certificate program. Nominations will not be considered for the following:

  • politicians currently holding office;
  • Saint Paul University honorary degree recipients, unless they are also graduates of Saint Paul University through a degree, diploma or certificate program; and
  • current members of the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

The deadline for 2018–2019 Alumnus of the Year nominations is Monday, March 4, 2019. Please email your nominations by providing a one-page overview of the candidate’s achievements and accomplishments to the attention of:

Jeff Wolfson
Saint Paul University Alumni and Development Office

Past Alumni of the Year 

2017 / 2018

Tanya Zayed, M. A. Conflict Studies, '08
Consultant and activist on child protection

2016 / 2017

The Most Reverend Donald Bolen, B. Theology, '78
Archbishop of Regina

2015 / 2016

Jean La Rose, B. Social Communication, '78
CEO, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)

2014 / 2015

Hazel Markwell, Ph.D Theology, '65
Director, Centre for Clinical Ethics

2013 / 2014

Gil Remillard, B. Philosophy '65
Founding Chairman, International Economic Forum of the Americas

2012 / 2013

Françoise Lagacé, B. Philosophy ’65
Pastoral facilitator, Archdiocese of Gatineau

Gilles Lagacé, B. Philosophy '65, B. Theology '70, M.A. Mission Studies '04
Labour Relations Advisor (Retired)

Isabelle Lagacé, Certificate in Social Communications '97
Directorate of Communications and Corporate Affairs, Cégep de l'Outaouais

2011 / 2012

Monsignor André Drouin, P.H., B. Philosophy '58, M.A. Pastoral Science '79
Pastor, Saint Anne’s Parish, Ottawa (Deceased)

2010 / 2011

Reverend Isaac-C. Martinez-Chuquizana, M.S.A., M.A. in Mission Studies '93
Animator General, Missionaries of the Holy Apostles

2009 / 2010

Dr. Elisabeth Jeannine Lacelle, B. Theology '67, Theology Licence '67
Professor Emeritus, Saint Paul University

2008 / 2009

His Eminence Francis Cardinal George, o.m.i., M.A. Theology '71
Archbishop of Chicago (Deceased)

2007 / 2008

Alain Gourd, B.Philosophy '66, M.A. Philosophy '68
Founder, President and CEO of BCE Media (Deceased)

2006 / 2007

Lieutenant-Colonel the Reverend Canon Michelle Staples, B.Theology '95, M.A. Theology '96
Command Chaplain for the Royal Canadian Navy

2005 / 2006

The Most Reverend Roger Ébacher, Theology Licence '61
Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Gatineau

2004 / 2005 

Michel Brazeau, B.Theology '87
Senior Director, Canadian School of Public Service

2003 / 2004

Sister Marie-Paule Couturier, f.m.a., M. Canon Law '91, Licence Canon Law '91
Vice-Chancellor of the Archdiocese of Halifax-Yarmouth (retired)

2002 / 2003

Monsignor Patrick Powers, P.H., B. Theology '87
General Secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops

2001 / 2002

Kirby Kranabetter, M.A. Pastoral Studies '93
Director of Mission, Ethics and Client Relations, Bruyere Continuing Care

2000 / 2001

Pierre Bergeron, B.Theology '70
Editor and Columnist, Le Droit

1999 / 2000

Sister Helen Prejean, C.S.J., M. Religious Education '73
Author/Human Rights Activist

1998 / 1999

The Reverend Roger Guindon, o.m.i., Philosophy Licence '43, B.Theology '45, Doctorate Theology '54
Founder, Saint Paul University (Deceased)

1997 / 1998

The Most Reverend Vernon James Weisgerber, B. Philosophy '58, Philosophy Licence '59
Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Winnipeg

1996 / 1997

Sister Monique Picard, SGM, Certificate in Theology '94
Sisters of Charity Montréal (Grey Nuns)

1995 / 1996

Frances Boire-Carrière, B.Theology '74, Philosophy Licence '76
Director, Human Resources, Bank of Canada

1994 / 1995

The Reverend Doctor Jean Monbourquette, o.m.i., B. Theology '57, Theology Licence '59
Professor, Saint Paul University (deceased)

1993 / 1994

Brother Réjean Gadouas, o.m.i., Theology Certificate '82
Founder of La Manne de l’île and Co-founder of Le Gîte Ami

Each gift has an impact

down Make a Gift