Administration and Governance
Telephone: 613-236-1393
Quick Links

Board of Governors

* * * 

On 31 January 2018, the Council of Administration approved the use of “Board of Governors” instead of “Council of Administration” and “Bureau des gouverneurs” instead of “Conseil d’administration,” and this without modifying official documents such as legislative or other legal documents.

The University is incorporating these changes into its website and administrative documents. Notwithstanding, the old title may still appear, especially in official documents. In these cases, the old terminology has the same meaning as the new and should be interpreted as being equivalent.

* * *



The Board of Governors is responsible for the University’s overall governance and management. In practical terms, the Board makes the financial decisions and implements the policies and procedures that the University needs to operate efficiently, in accordance with the educational policies established by the Senate. The Board can strike committees to help it exercise its powers. Governors are appointed by the Board of Governors in accordance with a delegation of authority by the Superior of the Notre-Dame-du-Cap Province of the Congregation of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate in consultation with that organization’s council to the Board of Governors.

Members 2022-2023

  • Marie-Michèle Laferrière, Chair of the Board of Governors (CECCE)
  • Marc Tassé, MBA, CPA, CA, Vice-President
  • Chantal Beauvais, Rector
  • Carole Breton, Secretary General
  • Marie-Josée Martel, retired from Public Service
  • Darlene Upton – Vice-President of Parks Canada
  • Daryold Winkler, Pastor St. Basil’s Parish Ottawa et member of M’Chigeeng First Nation
  • Jean-Marc Barrette, Vice-Rector, Academic and Research
  • Stephen Stuart, Vice-Rector, Administration
  • Soukaina Boutiyeb, President AFCO Ottawa
  • Andrzej Jastrzebski, o.m.i.
  • Jérémie Leblanc,  Support staff representative
  • Michèle Gervais, Chief Governance Officer and Executive Advisor, Montfort Hospital
  • Hashem Mawlawi, Director, National Defence (DND)