Alumni and Development Office
Telephone: 613-236-1393
Ext. 2539
Quick Links
Print Print this page

2016 Alumnus of the Year Ceremony


The Most Reverend Terrence Prendergast, SJ, Archbishop of Ottawa and Chancellor of Saint Paul University, and Dr. Chantal Beauvais, Rector of Saint Paul University, are proud to present the 2016 Alumnus of the Year Award to Mr. Jean La Rose, CEO of the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN).

WHAT: 2016 Alumnus of the Year Ceremony
Tuesday, May 24, 2016, at 3 p.m.
Elisabeth Bruyère Atrium, Saint Paul University

Jean La Rose is a First Nations citizen from the Abenakis First Nation of Odanak. He was raised in Ottawa, where he studied Journalism at Algonquin College and obtained his Bachelor of Arts in Social Communication at Saint Paul University in 1978. Mr. La Rose later began his Master's in Public Administration at L’École nationale d’administration publique.

We hope you will join us to celebrate the achievements of one of Saint Paul University’s outstanding Alumni. Please RSVP by May 16, 2016.

Register Now button

Please contact Jeff Wolfson at 613-236-1393, ext. 2539, or by email at if you have any questions.


Past Alumni of the Year 

  • 2014: Hazel Markwell, Ph.D Theology, '65
             Director, Centre for Clinical Ethics
  • 2013: Gil Remillard, B. Philosophy '65
             Founding Chairman, International Economic Forum of the Americas
  • 2012: Françoise Lagacé, B. Philosophy ’65
             Pastoral facilitator, Archdiocese of Gatineau
             Gilles Lagacé, B. Philosophy '65, B. Theology '70, M.A. Mission Studies '04
             Labour Relations Advisor (Retired)
             Isabelle Lagacé, Certificate in Social Communications '97
             Directorate of Communications and Corporate Affairs, Cégep de l'Outaouais
  • 2011: Monsignor André Drouin, P.H., B. Philosophy '58, M.A. Pastoral Science '79
             Pastor, Saint Anne’s Parish, Ottawa (Deceased)
  • 2010: Revrend Isaac-C. Martinez-Chuquizana, M.S.A., M.A. in Mission Studies '93
             Animator General, Missionaries of the Holy Apostles
  • 2009: Dr. Elisabeth Jeannine Lacelle, B. Theology '67, Theology Licence '67
             Professor Emeritus, Saint Paul University
  • 2008: His Eminence Francis Cardinal George, o.m.i., M.A. Theology '71
             Archbishop of Chicago (Deceased)
  • 2007: Alain Gourd, B.Philosophy '66, M.A. Philosophy '68
             Founder, President and CEO of BCE Media (Deceased)
  • 2006: Lieutenant-Colonel the Reverend Canon Michelle Staples, B.Theology '95, M.A. Theology '96
             Command Chaplain for the Royal Canadian Navy
  • 2005: The Most Reverend Roger Ébacher, Theology Licence '61
             Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Gatineau
  • 2004: Michel Brazeau, B.Theology '87
             Senior Director, Canadian School of Public Service
  • 2003: Sister Marie-Paule Couturier, f.m.a., M. Canon Law '91, Licence Canon Law '91
             Vice-Chancellor of the Archdiocese of Halifax-Yarmouth (retired)
  • 2002: Monsignor Patrick Powers, P.H., B. Theology '87
             General Secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops
  • 2001: Kirby Kranabetter, M.A. Pastoral Studies '93
             Director of Mission, Ethics and Client Relations, Bruyere Continuing Care
  • 2000: Pierre Bergeron, B.Theology '70
             Editor and Columnist, Le Droit
  • 1999: Sister Helen Prejean, C.S.J., M. Religious Education '73
             Author/Human Rights Activist
  • 1998: The Reverend Roger Guindon, o.m.i., Philosophy Licence '43, B.Theology '45, Doctorate Theology '54
             Founder, Saint Paul University (Deceased)
  • 1997: The Most Reverend Vernon James Weisgerber, B. Philosophy '58, Philosophy Licence '59
             Archbishop Emeritus, Archdiocese of Winnipeg
  • 1996: Sister Monique Picard, SGM, Certificate in Theology '94
             Sisters of Charity Montréal (Grey Nuns)
  • 1995: Frances Boire-Carrière, B.Theology '74, Philosophy Licence '76
             Director, Human Resources, Bank of Canada
  • 1994: The Reverend Doctor Jean Monbourquette, o.m.i., B. Theology '57, Theology Licence '59
             Professor, Saint Paul University (deceased)
  • 1993: Brother Réjean Gadouas, o.m.i., Theology Certificate '82
             Founder of La Manne de l’île and Co-founder of Le Gîte Ami